SBG.

I decided to fulfill SBG Geometry 2 by going around my house and finding common items falling into categories of solids (cylinders, cones, prisms, pyramids, etc). I went around the house and found different examples and then made a Venn diagram like the one we did in class with the power solids. In the diagram I classified the solids into their respective areas. Here is my diagram:

solids

As you can see, I didn’t have any circular cones or pyramids just laying around. So I drew up an ice cream cone for kicks and giggles. Under the cylinder section I put cans of soup, a cheese package, and a tub of lotion all representing forms of circular cylinders. Under polyhedrons and cylinders fell a cube box, a triangular prism–my iHome, and rectangular prisms which consisted of food boxes, a contact box, and another box. Outside of the diagram (not in any of the supported categories) are a hemisphere–an earring of mine and spheres- a golf ball and exercise ball.

The diagram shows the both prisms and pyramids are polyhedrons because they have flat edges and sides. Pyramids are also cones because they have a flat bottom face and a top vertex. Prisms are also cylinders because they have congruent tops and bottoms.

 

This fulfills the Geometry 2 SBG because I was able to categorize solids based on their bases, faces, edges, vertices, and symmetry.

 

I really enjoyed this “doing math” weekly because it was challenging to find household objects. I would encourage students to do something similar to this because it really sets in the ideas of solids and allows them to interact with the material closely.

